The National Chair's 2014 Convention Message of Thanks and Appreciation

Dear Fellow Alumni:

Let me begin by thanking President Richard Wright, the officers and members of the North Carolina chapter for hosting our 2014 Convention. All of us who attended left with lasting memories of the total positive environment generated throughout the events. The venues, music and food were excellent. Overall, the total ambience of the Convention showcased why we are the top Liberian alumni association in the United States.

We thank all members who attended the 2014 Convention in spite of very inclement weather, a hurricane, and the related travel difficulties as a result. I want to thank the Presidents, the officers and members of the various chapters for continuing to maintain our B. W Harris Episcopal School Alumni Association-USA, Inc.: Richard Wright – North Carolina; Mona Diggs - Metro Chapter; Louisa Merchant – Tri-State Chapter; Yuku Stewart – Texas Chapter; Henry Byrd – Minnesota Chapter; Nadine Wilson – Rhode Island Chapter, and; Gloria Caine – Penndel Chapter

Chapters, classes and members continue to lead by example with their generosity and commitment to projects in the school, as well as contributing to the scholarship fund. This demonstrates that the members of the Association believe in what we do: Metro chapter donated \$5,000.00 for new computers, and Tri-State Chapter donated \$7,000.00 towards the Endowment Fund, kindergarten class, and the clinic; as well as Handel Diggs' Scholarship, and the Building Infrastructure Development Fund.

I want to thank the following Classes for their commitment to our Association: Class of 1981 donated \$1,000.00 towards scholarship and the Class of 1983 contributed \$600.00 towards scholarships.

We thank our members for their generosity: Spartan Euphemia Jones matched her class (1983) donation from last year - \$600.00, and Charles Lahai Hoffman contributed \$565.00 for his scholarship and pledged another \$800.00 to scholarship and \$400.00 to the Building Infrastructure Development Fund.

We acknowledge our 2014 Lifetime members: Rosaline Kai Lewis-Coleman – Honorary member; Varney Coleman; Saba Kla-Williams Sr. – TPS; Marjon Wiles Greaves; and Joyce Thorpe Jones.

Our 2014 Gold Club members are George Fonderson, J. Saba Kla-Williams, Mary Washington, Ciata Diggs, Charles Lahai Hoffman, Joe Frank Stewart, Varney Coleman, Rosalyn Kai Lewis-Coleman, Eva Diggs and Everlinah Coles.

In 2014, George Fonderson, J. Saba Kla-Williams, Mary Washington, Joe Frank Stewart, Rachel Grigsby, Konner Dennis, Meyartha Perry, Richard Ellis and Charles Lahai Hoffman were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Our 2014 Endowment Fund Donors are Gudrun Harris (\$2000.00); Mohamedu F. Jones (\$500.00); Varney Coleman (\$250.00); Rosalyn Kai Lewis-Coleman (\$250.00); Handel Diggs (\$100.00); Ophelia Acolatse (\$100.00); Daffeh Hansford (\$25.00); and Meyartha Perry (\$18.00).

Our 2014 Building Infrastructure, Development Fund donors are: Gudrun Harris (\$500.00); David Moore (\$300.00); Eugene Bedell (\$250.00); Meyartha Perry (\$200.00); Mohamedu F. Jones (\$500.00);

Konner Dennis (\$150.); Handel Diggs (\$100.00); Ophelia Acolatse (\$100.00) and Daffeh Hansford (\$25.00).

Our 2014 Annual Giving donors are: Varney Coleman (\$50.00); Rosalyn Kai Lewis-Coleman (\$50.00); Eva Diggs (\$100.00); Ciata Diggs (\$100.00); Handel Diggs (\$100.00); Mohamedu F. Jones (\$733 purchase of Lifetime Awards); Gudrun Harris (\$1,148.00 purchase of 10 computers and chairs); Eugene Bedell (\$600.00 to host Building Infrastructure Development Fund's fundraiser); Massa David (\$100.00); Mona Diggs (\$100.00); Rachel Grigsby (\$50.00); Ophelia Acolatse (\$100.00); Daffeh Hansford (\$25.00); Albertha Gillespie (\$100.00); and Joanna Freeman Richards (\$100.00).

Five members honored loved ones on the Wall of Memory for the 2014 Convention: George Fonderson in memory of James L. Mills
Marjon Wiles Greaves in memory of Justin Tiedi Nimeley
Konner Dennis in memory of Gloria R. Dennis
Ophelia Acolatse in memory of Sundaway Etmonia Logan
Rachel Green Grigsby in memory of Esther W. Greene

May they rest in peace.

To Spartan Amanda Wright, your insight in recognizing the "Queens" of our school is highly valued and much appreciated. The beautiful faces and attire of the Queens brought even more radiance to the Convention. Thanks your ROYAL MAJESTIES: Marjon Wiles-Greaves; Alma Anderson-Bright; Eva Diggs; Georgetta Mason-Brown; Precious Gibson; Candy Peal-Boayue; and Amanda Harris –Wright. As part of the Queens recognition, we observed the memory of the late Queen Annie Mooney.

We thank our honorary members for their commitment to B. W. Harris School.

We say to the members who attended the 2014 Convention, your very presence underscores your commitment to our school and the good work we do for the children.

Thank you ALL for making 2014 Convention a "standout" convention and we look forward to seeing you at Metro in 2015.

Gudrun Harris National Chair