The Tri-State Chapter

Tri-State Chapter is one of the most viable chapters of this association. It consists of 100 members including active and inactive. Citations are mailed and send via email on a monthly basis to encourage a face-to-face meeting and foster relations amongst members. It is also customary for us to present minutes, financial/bank statements and members due paying list at every meeting.

Tri-State stands out as the only chapter that has consistently met its full financial obligation to the Association since its inception. The chapter's annual event is the Bishop George D. Browne Achievement and Awards Dinner.

Officers of Tri-State

Current officers

Amb Rachel Njinimbam - President

Rillette Hammond - 1st Vice President

Alvin Goodridge - 2nd Vice President

Theresa Combey- Secretary

Emily B. Henries-Gardiner - Treasurer

Harriette Harris-Davis - Chaplain

Muriel Wayne - Executive Board Representative

Dr. Eugenia Burphy-Andrews - Executive Board Representative


Tri:State over the years:

  • In 2001, the chapter furnished the Kindergarten Class with books and other learning materials. 
  • In July 2002, Tri-State provided rice for the cafeteria, teachers, and students. 
  • During the civil conflict of July 2003, the chapter provided rice to the families of our students.
  • In July 2003 Tri-State hosted the association 12th annual convention in Staten Island, New York.
  • In 2003 Tri-State purchased the BWHESAA pins and is the sole owner. 


Highlights of the chapter:

  • First chapter to establish a scholarship fund. In 2002, awarded 10 candidates the Herbert Grigsby by Athletic Scholarships.
  • Many years of consecutive execution of the Bishop George D. Browne Awards Dinner/Fundraiser. This fundraiser was established to raise funds and to award proficient individuals for their tremendous contribution to our communities. We are swollen with pride to say that this project/fundraiser was founded by former National Chairman, Mr. Handel K. C. Diggs in 2001. 
  • At convention 2007, our chapter contributed $850.00 to the scholarship fund.
  • It’s renowned “Reaching Out “Birthday Project established since 1996 helped maintained cohesion in the chapter. 
  • Tri-State executed its first Xmas meeting Get-together in 1996. 
  • Chapter presidents are expected to and continue to present annual State of The Chapter Address to the membership.


Historical Milestones:

  • In 2008 Tri-State’s Bishop George D. Browne Award/Dinner Fundraiser’s attendance extended to 110 guests and members. Tri-State Pre-Registered 25 members for convention. 
  • In 2009 Tri-State hosted the Association’s 17th annual convention in Long Island, New York and registered over 60 members. It also had the most members to contribute to the Capital Campaign. The Bishop George D. Browne Award/Dinner Fundraiser had the highest attendance in any chapter’s history of over 200 guests.
  • In 2010, Tri-State registered 35 members for the Association’s 18th Annual Convention.
  • In 2011, Tri-State registered over 60 members for the Association’s 19th Annual Convention, a historical record.
  • In 2012, Tri-State In 2012 Tri-State registered 35 members for the Association’s 20th annual convention.
  • In 2012, Tri-State paid its assessment fees  in advance for 2013.
  • In 2012, Tri-State contributed $500.00 to National Chair Harris’ official visit to the school.
  • In 2012, Tri-State funded the Kindergarten and Clinic projects in the amount of $1000.00.
  • In 2013, Tri-State funded the “PADS” program in the amount of $500.00.
  • In 2013, Tri-State Bishop George D. Browne Award/Dinner Fundraiser’s attendance was the highest ever. 
  • 2013 – 2015 Contributed more than $7,000.00 for the clinic, kindergarten class and chairs for the auditorium.


Past Presidents

Anthony Adighibe – 1991 -1993

Charles Blake-1993 - 1995

Handel Diggs -1995-1997

Thelma Collins – 1997 -1999

Thomas Bernard – 1999-2001

Milton Ricks -2001-2003

Pierre King – 2003 - 2007

Gudrun Harris – 2007-2011

Elyne Padmore – July 2011- December 2012

Louisa Merchant – December 2012 – September 2015

Joe Freeman - September 2015 - September 2017

David G. Moore - September 2017 - September 2019

M. Deconte Brumskine-Ricks - September 2019 - September 2022

Elyne Padmore - September 2022 - September 2023